2023. december 29. 10:17 - KiB99 powermetal.blog.hu

Best power albums of 2023 ... in my opinion

I've never written an annual (top) list before, but now I've seen it in quite a few places, so I'm in the mood.

It's not really going to be a top 10, there's no ranking, just a list of what I think are the best power albums. I won't write a long description, 1-2 sentences max, and I'll throw in 1-1 song as an index.

There will be some big returning bands and some bands that are new to me.

Let's start.

Twilight Force - At the Heart of Wintervale

The dragon-loving nerds have not been lying to themselves and have managed to produce another very strong fantasy album...never worse.

Sylvania - Purgatorium

I've written about them before, after 4 years they came out with a new album and a new singer. It was flawless:)

Skyblazer - Infinity's Wings

An army of one. I love projects like this, and I'm so damn jealous that someone would do something like this. This album always makes me feel good.

ShadowStrike - Traveler's Tales

I was really looking forward to the new album from them, because the previous one was fantastic, Dragonforce's style is enviable, although this one is more EPIC.

 

Rexoria - Imperial Dawn

I met them at a concert in the fall, never heard of them before...big mistake. Battle Beast comes to mind.

Prydain - At the Gates

A new, American band with a lot of veteran members. The singer can whine, but the music is real fantasy power.

Eunomia - The Chronicles of Eunomia Pt. 2

Another chapter in the great story of Marius Danielsen...this guy can do no wrong.

Derdian - New Era Part IV - Resurgence

The Italians have not released a new album for 5 years. I was on pins and needles waiting to see what they'd come up with. I wasn't disappointed, it was a damn good album.

Marco Garau's Magic Opera - Battle of Ice

Speaking of Derdian, a former member, Marco Garau's second solo album. It's amazingly fantastic, but you can't deny where the inspiration comes from. It's less prog than Derdian. I love it.

Lovebites - Judgement Day

Japanese band with all female members. It's amazing what these girls can do, there are no words.

Evermore - In Memoriam

A relatively new Swedish band, they released their first album only 2 years ago. The singer can scream here too. Damn good power anthems all around:)

Chamelion - Legends & Lores

A brand new Finnish power band. And the Finns can't really go wrong when it comes to power. Mostly the earlier Rhapsody that comes to mind, I think master Turilli likes it too:) .

Bloodbound - Tales from the North

Now they're veterans at heart, but the momentum is still there. Once again, they have delivered a strong record. I hope they come back soon, I'll definitely be there.

Wonders - Beyond the Mirage

Another fresh Italian band, mostly Even Flow (?) members. This is their second album, I hope they keep up this level.

Power Reset

Another one-man project, this time from Brazil. Just listen, you'll cheer up:)

Edu Falaschi

Edu Falaschi's name came to mind several times in the past (as a former Angra singer), but somehow I never got around to listening to it. That was a mistake too, the gentleman in question is something else.

 

Which are still interesting, although a bit disappointing compared to the previous album(s):

The Lightbringer of Sweden - The New World Order

I loved their first album, I listened to it a lot. Here, unfortunately, there's a lot of mid-tempo and it's less exciting.

Gloryhammer - Return to the Kingdom of Fife

The album isn't bad, in fact...but I still can't cope with the new singer, who is very good, but not Thomas Winkler.

 

Primal Fear - Code Red

Unfortunately they are a disappointment for me, the new album is a bit boring, even though it has everything that Primal Fear has.

 

So that's it for this year. Lots of new and exciting bands with great albums, and the old bikers have brought their best (more or less). It was fun to write this little summary, I think I'll make it a system:)

Happy New Year Everyone!

 

 

KiB

 

An encore: a new album from the former Twilight Force and Majestica singer...how could he miss it?

Final Strike - Finding Pieces

Szólj hozzá!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://powermetal.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr1918290757

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása